A space rock so huge, it has been nicknamed after Dwayne “The Rock” Johnson will streak past Earth this Wednesday, April 19. That may sound disturbing, yet do not freeze, the space rock will pass us at a nearby however safe separation – which implies telescopes around the planet will watch out for it, and you will have the opportunity to watch it whizz by from the solace of your own home.


“In spite of the fact that there is no probability for the space rock to crash into our planet, this will be a nearby approach for a space rocks this size,” a NASA official statement clarifies. The space rock formally known as 2014 JO25 has been nicknamed “The Rock” in light of its strong size.

Initially found in 2014, analysts assess that it’s around 650 meters (2,000 feet) long.

Despite the fact that it’s already been marked “possibly risky”, it ought to securely pass us at a separation of 1.8 million kilometres (1.1 million miles) – under five times the separation to the Moon.

That is nothing to stress over – little space rocks skim past at comparative separations a few times each week.

Yet, this is the first run through since 2004 that a space rock so sizable will come this nearby.

The last time 2014 JO25 was in our quick neighbourhood was 400 years back, and it’s not anticipated that would pass Earth again until at some point after 2600.

The uplifting news for individuals needing to get a look at it as it zooms past is that it ought to be noticeable with a little optical telescope, since its surface assessed to be twice as intelligent as the Moon.

“Cosmologists plan to watch it with telescopes the world over to learn however much about it as could be expected,” says NASA.

In case you are not a sharp space expert, do not stress, you can watch the entire thing live through the Virtual Telescope Project appropriate here, beginning at 7.30pm UTC (3.30pm ET) on 19 April, or 5.30am AEST on 20 April.

Slooh individuals can likewise observe live by means of the online observatory, at 11pm UTC (7pm ET) on 19 April, or 9am AEST on 20 April.

Save

Save

Save

Save

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *